Public Lectures Series
Lectures are free and open to the public. Lectures are in McCosh 50 and begin at 6:00 p.m. unless otherwise noted. Click here to see location.
Lectures Home » Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood Author


Future Imperfect:  The Clock Strikes Midnight
October 16, 2012
J. Edward Farnum Lecture, cosponsored by the Committee on Canadian Studies

An investigation into horrid and near-horrid literary futures, beginning with Poe’s The Masque of the Red Death, and continuing with a romp through various unsanitary corners of times to come, including the Zombie Apocalypse.  Why now, and what next?

Margaret Atwood is the author of numerous volumes of poetry and novels, including The Edible Woman, The Handmaid’s Tale, Cat’s Eye, and most recently, The Year of the Flood.