Public Lectures Series
Lectures are free and open to the public. Lectures are in McCosh 50 and begin at 6:00 p.m. unless otherwise noted. Click here to see location.
Lectures Home » 2003-2004 Lectures
Speakers in this series

William G. Bowen President, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Reclaiming the Game: College Sports and Educational Values
Thu, 25 Sep 2003 | Walter E. Edge Lectures

Yi Fu Tuan Emeritus Professor, University of Wisconsin

Place, Art, and Self
Wed, 08 Oct 2003 | J. Edward Farnum Lectures

Svante Pääbo Director, Dept. of Genetics, Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig

Genomic Approaches to Human Origins
Wed, 15 Oct 2003 | Spencer Trask Lectures

Roger Penrose Emeritus Rouse Ball Professor of Mathematics, University of Oxford, and Francis and Helen Pentz Visiting Professor of Physics and Mathematics, Penn State University

Faith, Fashion and Fantasy in the New Physics of the Universe
Fri, 17 Oct 2003 | Louis Clark Vanuxem Lectures

Amos Oz Ben Gurion University of the Negev

Israel: Peace and War
Mon, 10 Nov 2003 | Walter E. Edge Lectures

Roy Mottahedeh Harvard University

Who are the Leaders of the Iraqi Shi'ites?
Tue, 18 Nov 2003 | Walter E. Edge Lectures

Frans de Waal Emory University

How Close to the Apes? Human Behavior and Primate Evolution.
Wed, 19 Nov 2003 |

Daniel Libeskind Studio Daniel Libeskind

Building Places from Memories.
Tue, 24 Feb 2004 | Stafford Little Lectures

Cesar Pelli Cesar Pelli and Associates

The Public in Architecture
Wed, 24 Mar 2004 | Stafford Little Lectures

Helen Vendler Harvard University

Lyric Intimacy: Speaking to Invisible Listeners.
Wed, 14 Apr 2004 | J. Edward Farnum Lectures

Noah Feldman New York University

The Ethics of Nation-Building: What We Owe Iraq
Mon, 26 Apr 2004 | Walter E. Edge Lectures

Vera Rubin Carnegie Institution of Washington.

Telling Stories about the Universe
Sat, 04 Dec 2004 | Stafford Little Lectures